Cardmaking How To #2: The dresses

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a cardmaking post so I figured I would share this card that I made, that has quickly become one of my favorites.  I used Hero Arts My Monthly Hero kit for April 2017.  This kit was definitely a girly girly kit, tons of dresses and accessories you can use to dress up the heads you put on the dresses.  Not to mention the add ons you can get with your kit.  The kit not only came with stamps but it also came with ink, paper, fake pearls, gems, Nuvo Drops, and wire hanger paper clips.  The retail price of this kit is $70 but you only pay $34.99.

I absolutely swooned when I saw this kit so I’ve been making cards non stop with it and this is probably my favorite one I’ve made. So, enough rambling, let’s get into the card!

Firstly I had to choose the dress that I wanted to use and the acrylic block that it would fit best on:

DSC01896

I then attached it to the acrylic block and stamped it in Versa Mark, which is a sticky ink used for embossing.  Before stamping the images down, I took my EK Success anti static tool and dusted it all over the card base so as to remove all of the moisture that the embossing powder could stick to.  I then stamped the four dresses, off set, onto the card base with the Versa Mark ink.  I then took Ranger embossing powder in Gold and poured that over the card which was over a coffee filter to catch all of the extra.  I repeated the pouring step two times to be sure to get good coverage. I then took my Wagner heat gun, which I also purchased from Hero Arts, so that the powder would melt to a smooth metallic finish.

Then, my favorite part, coloring the images! I alternate regularly between painting and coloring with my Prisma Color pencils.  I used two shades of yellow, two shades of blue, two shades of purple, and two shades of pink.

Yellows: Yellowed Orange (PC1002) and Spanish Orange (PC1003)
Blues: Electric Blue (PC1040) and True Blue (PC903)
Purples: Parma Violet (PC1008) and Lilac (PC956)
Pinks: Blush Pink (PC928) and Pink (PC929)

The way I colored these dresses is by coloring the whole dress the lighter shade and then outlining in the darker color then blending out with Gamsol.

As a final touch I added sequins by Pretty Pink Posh in a mirrored clear and a beautiful rose gold.

DSC01902

After all of this work, the card is finally finished! I’m guessing you want to see what it looks like, yes?

DSC01894

I really think that the gold outline gives the dresses an elegant look.  What do you think of this card? IF it were for sale on my Etsy shop, would you buy it? Thanks for stopping by, leave a comment telling me what else you would like to see on this blog!

XO,
Emma

One thought on “Cardmaking How To #2: The dresses

Leave a Reply

