Cardmaking How To #3: Pretty Woman

It’s always nice to encourage someone in your life, and surprising them with a beautiful handmade encouragement card is the way to go.  I made this card just for fun but soon realized it would be a great card to send to one of the many inspirational woman in my life to inspire them just as they have inspired me.  Now, I took pictures after and not during the process like I normally do so some steps are missing but I will be sure to tell you every step that I did even if there is no picture to go with it.  Let’s get crafting shall we?

DSC01911

Before I even started coloring, I created my card base which was made of a slate gray cardstock from a local shop called Hearts-n-Crafts that I cut down into an A2 card which is 4 1/4″ by 11″, then folded at 5 1/2″.  I then used my Hero Arts Unicorn pigment ink, found here to stamp the Simon Says Stamp ‘You Matter’ background stamp (found on their website). This really created a nice crisp sentiment background for my Julie Nutting doll you see above.  I used Prismacolor Premier colored pencils to color in this image but you can honestly use any colored pencil you can get your hands on and color your heart out.  The colors I used for the hair are:
-Sunburst Yellow~ PC 917
-Mineral Orange~ PC 1033
-Pumpkin Orange~ PC 1032
For her skin I used two colors:
-Light Peach~ PC 927
-Peach~ PC 939
That is my favorite color combination for light skin tones, it’s light without being transparent.  For her outfit and headband I used mainly purples:
-Lavender~ PC 934
-Lilac~ PC 956
-Parma Violet~ PC 1008
-Mulberry~ PC 995

I did measure her to see where she would end on my card because I knew all of her wouldn’t fit, which you can see in the first photo I marked off where the card would end so I didn’t waste time coloring the whole image.  The second image above is the completed image.  To blend the colors I used blending stumps and Spectrum Noir Gamsol blending solution.  I then took my Tim Holtz detail serrated scissors, which can be purchased from Simon Says Stamp, and fussy cut out my lovely lady. I then used my Wink of Stella shimmer pen in clear and colored the fringe of the skirt and topped her head band with the shimmer pen as well.  I then took my Elmers Glue tape runner and backed her with tape.

I then took my Little Things by Lucy’s Cards sequins in Butterfly Garden, purchased from Simon Says Stamp, and used my Ranger Multi Medium Matte to glue down a selection from the little baggie.  I like to use the Multi Matte because it dries matte, as the name suggests, which means it won’t really show if it gets outside of what you are gluing.  I like to use the needle nose tip of a Quilling bottle just swapped out for the regular top of the Multi Matte and viola! you have a precision glue bottle.

For the sentiment I once again used my Unicorn pigment ink and used a sentiment I received in a grab bag from Unity Stamp Co that says “Today isn’t just an ordinary day. Today you’ll start something beautiful.” Then I took a butterfly from my Butterfly Garden sequin set and glued it right next to the sentiment. Also in the second picture you can see my Elmer’s tape runner.   Lately I’ve been really liking putting a little stamped image or a few sequins on the inside of the card to help improve what it looks like on the inside- not so boring.

DSC01918

This is the final image, sorry it’s a little blurry, I’m just getting used to using my camera for up close shots again.  You could use this card for any occasion, maybe even Mother’s Day (US- May 14, ladies and gents). I hope you enjoyed todays post and I’m sure I’ll be back with another post either about cards or something totally different, I like to keep you on your toes!

Love,
Emma

Leave a Reply

