A Quarter Life crisis in progress

I always thought that by the time I was 24,I would have my shit figured out.  I would have a kick ass job, be engaged, have my own place, be fit, and have my whole life figured out. Boy was I living in la la land.  Enter a term I learned while reading, Quarter life crisis. Nope, it’s not just for middle age anymore folks.  I told you where I thought I would be, now let me tell you where I actually am.

quarter-life-crisiscakeI am still fat and ugly, with zits popping up every day.  I still cry myself to sleep every other night.  I still live at home, have no job prospects, can’t even perform, have two broken legs with one still in a cast that’s been in a cast for over  a year, and that whole loving yourself thing we’re supposed to do? Yeah, that shit is hard.  I thought that by the time I was twenty four, life would be great.  Obviously I wasn’t expecting what you see in movies but if Hollywood could throw me a bone that’d be real appreciated. People say to look to your elders for advice but they didn’t go through the same type of quarter life crisis we are going through and neither will our children.  The quarter life crisis changes with the generations meaning that, basically, we are set to fend for ourselves.  Currently I make greeting cards for a living, which I absolutely love, but it’s not exactly going to pay the rent of even the cheapest apartment.  So how do we deal with it? We are the Prozac generation, enough said. I need my meds to function, and not just because of some quarter life crisis.  That just makes things seem worse than they are.  I’m sure you’re thinking, if you know that then why can’t you just snap yourself out of it? Because it’s not as easy as clicking your fingers, that’s why.  It takes drive, hardwork, and determination among other things, and those things are hard to find when you’re at the bottom of a well without a flashlight or a rope.  So what do we do to beat this quarter life crisis? Well I’m not therapist and since I’m in the same place you are I can only tell you what I am trying to do to ride this storm out.

  1. Interact with people, older, younger, your age.  Make new friends.
  2. Journal. It helps, it really helps.
  3. See a therapist if you can, they really do help.
  4. Find what you love and do it as much as you can. If it brings you joy it will give you a glimmer of hope.
  5. Don’t lock yourself away in your bedroom refusing to come out, it’s the worst thing you can do for yourself and for those trying to help you.
  6. Finally, I’m going to share a bit of advice from one of my favorite books “You Are a Badass” by Jenn Sincero- LOVE YOURSELF BECAUSE YOU DESERVE IT. Also check this book out if you haven’t already, I hate self help books but this one actually helps.

I hope this post has helped you quarter lifers feel less alone, I know it has me.  If you have any questions or advice or just want to chat, leave a comment down below- I’d love to hear from you.

XOXO,
Emma

Leave a Reply

